Update for Sometimes Lymphedema just feels Awful

image

The previous post “Sometimes Lymphedema Just Feels Awful” was originally posted in September 2013. Jennifer has now sent an update and it is great to see that life can improve due to the new surgical procedures.

Jennifer says…

“I’ve since had 2 lymph node transfers, one to the groin area, then 2 years later area a 2nd one to the inside thigh area. My progress since that last writing has been measurable. I am so much better off than I was before. I don’t feel pain and pressure any more, I’ve lost a few centimeters in circumstance as measured against the ‘good’ leg, and I have no limitations in terms of physical activity.
I ride my bike in the heat and humidity of summer and have no worsening of my edema. I can get through a long day, at the office, running errands, working out, etc., and still be okay at the end of the day. I can take trips, even longer flights with minimal issues of extra swelling. In fact, we got stranded in Chicago on a return from a getaway to Arizona, and sat in the plane for 4 hours, cramped in our what seems like ever shrinking seats and leg room, and had no problems. I am not ‘cured’ by any stretch of the imagination. I still have to wear compression stockings, still the same strength 30/40 and wear a night wrap. I’ve not been able to go without them even for a day so far. It’s been over 4 years since the 1st surgery and 2 years since the 2nd surgery.
I am talking to Dr. David Chang at the University of Chicago about a LVA Lymph-Venous Anastomosis to see about relieving the fluid in the calf and knee area, that are still problematic . He said I was a good candidate.
The procedure would take 4 hours, where a total of 4 incisions would be made to make those connections along the leg. They are very small incisions, less than an 1 inch, and connect a lymph vessel branch to a vein. Though I’ve read that patients have been able to get rid of their compression stockings after this procedure, Dr. Chang stayed neutral on the subject. It really does depend on the individual’s situation. Dr. Chang is only 1 of a handful of surgeons in the U.S. that do this type of procedure. He learned the technique from Dr. Isao Koshima in Japan.
So, I am very near a decision to go ahead with this procedure. I will keep you all posted!”

Thanks Jennifer for your latest update and I look forward to on going news.. Helen

Other posts from Jennifer

https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/exciting-news-from-new-york-nodes-are-growing/

https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/news-from-jennifer-march-2014/

https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/two-years-after-lymph-node-transfer-in-new-york/

image

Feel free to share with others. It can be distributed via social media, reblogged or added to websites. Please do not change the original content and provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name and a link to this blog.
https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/ Thanks

 

2 thoughts on “Update for Sometimes Lymphedema just feels Awful

  1. Can I please get in contact with Jennifer who wrote this blog. I would like to share my experience with her regarding LVA.

    Thank you,

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

