One year after LNT …. Cindy

imageCindy had a great Christmas celebration one year after her LNT…

“I attended the party and did not wear any compression. I’m attaching 2 photos.  I also wore heels. It felt wonderful to feel the fabric of my clothing against my leg!! Polished my nails and put on a pair of heels. When I arrived home I had no visible swelling. Yay!!! The next day I immediately got into my compression again. My husband suggested I not wear the compression and see what happens. I can’t do that, I’ve gone through too much to get where I am today. Instead, I will periodically go with out compression. I think my leg looks great and it feels great too. Since having my surgery a year ago, I wear compression every day. I do not wear any compression when I go to bed. The only other significant change I made is that I dropped 7-10lbs before having the LVNT and have kept that weight off.” From Cindy

Thanks for sharing Cindy and for all the questions you answer and help you give others, have a great Christmas and New Year .. Helen

image
Feel free to share with others. It can be distributed via social media, reblogged or added to websites. Please do not change the original content and provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name and a link to this blog. https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/ Thanks

24 thoughts on “One year after LNT …. Cindy

  1. Cindy
    Merry Christmas and congrats on how great your leg looks! I almost cried at how wonderful this is for you and the hope it brings the rest of us.
    Pam

    • Pam,
      It is exciting and was wonderful to be compression free for a few hours. Just want everyone to know this isn’t an every day thing, I still have lymphedema. The major difference between today and four years ago, is my leg looks like the other one and it feels healthy. Happy holidays to you!
      Cindy

    • Pam,
      It is exciting and was wonderful to be compression free for a few hours. Just want everyone to know this isn’t an every day thing, I still have lymphedema. The major difference between today and four years ago, is my leg looks like the other one and it feels healthy. Happy holidays to you!
      Cindy

    • Carol Schaaf,
      Thanks mom (😊) and
      thanks for being with me last year when I had the LNT. You were my own personal chauffeur. 💕

      • Helen,
        I just want to remind people that I still have lymphedema. The surgery didn’t cure me. Thankfully, today I only wear compression during the day. It hasn’t always been like that. Immediately after the surgery, I wore my Jovi to bed for months. I still hope that one day I will spend a lot of time out of my garment. For now, I’m happy that my leg looks like the other one and grateful for the opportunity to have an evening out without my garment.
        Cindy

        • It is as we keep saying… Not a cure but a huge improvement… And that really helps us to care for it better…. I am sure if I had not had this done my leg would be so much worse being in the wheelchair… It is soft and no infections… Have a great Christmas… Thanks for all your support… From Helen

    • Carrie,
      Thank you! Yes, it was a relief to get home and not see any swelling. As wonderful as it is to be compression free for a few hours, it is overwhelming too. Spent a lot of the evening checking ankle for pitting!! Lol
      Cindy

  2. Hey ! Your leg looks amazing! Can i ask you where they put the nodes and how bad /long you had le before? In march I will have my lnt too an i am a bit nervous since mine is primary.
    X

    • Kharimata,
      I developed lymphedema in November 2010, secondary to radical hysterectomy for suspected uterine cancer. I had the surgery in December, 2014. Dr. Granzow put the node(s) in the inside upper thigh, mid way between knee and groin. I didn’t realize they did LNTs for primary lymphedema; how exciting for you!! Where are you having the surgery done? Where are they taking the donor node(s) from? I wish you the best and hope you will share your experience on this blog. It is comforting to know there are others going through the same thing. Wishing you a speedy recovery
      Cindy

        • Hey Cindy, thanks for your information. Yes they do lnt for primary le but it might be more risky i guess. I have waited for four years to make a decision but i am tired of the le as it gets more fibrotic too. They will take the nodes under axilla – next to the breast. Not in the axilla off course. An place them above the knee as mine is especially lower calf region and a bit upper thigh. Thanks for your update. I will share my story then too. And i am planning to sport a lot to be in even better shape for surgery with dr Becker in Paris.
          Thanks Helen for sharing previous links. And wish you and everybody here a Merry Christmas!!! xxx

  3. Pingback: Latest news from Cindy.. Can I let Compression go? | My Lymph Node Transplant

Leave a Reply

