Kim’s surgery for Primary Lymphedema and Chylothorax

imageKim made contact via this blog a few weeks ago, she was looking for some help from myself and others, she wrote
“I developed primary lymphedema in my left leg and abdomen a year and a half ago. I also developed a chylothorax https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chylothorax and have fluid drained twice from the lining of my lung. A doctor at UPenn Hospital Center is working with me to do a lymphscintigrapy. I have read that lymphatic transplants don’t work well for people with my history (Late onset Primary LE). I am 60 and in very good health otherwise. This has come out of the blue.”

We were able to answer some of her questions about our own experiences with surgery, testing, various doctors and hospitals, plus expectations pre and post surgery. Kim has now reached the next stage in her treatment to repair the Chylothorax and help the primary Lymphedema. Unlike secondary Lymphedema, caused by cancer treatment, we do not hear so much about Primary Lymphedema. Often people have difficulty finding a diagnosis or a doctor who understands Lymphedema and its impact on the body. I am  very pleased that Kim is sharing her experince with us but sorry that this should happen to her. Today Kim wrote..

“It’s only because of the encouragement from people on this site that I have chased down the people and institutions that might be able to help me. I am 60. My lymphatics are apparently just failing, Primary LE Tarda. Since this began in Spring 2014 with swelling in my leg, it progressed quickly over the summer. Bandaging, MLD, and a flexitouch pump are the main lines of therapy. But now I have abdominal ascites, and have had my chest drained four times since June. They take out a little over two liters each time and of course always test it. The lymphangography I had last month did not produce many good images, because of fluid in my chest. My thoracic duct up near my collar bone was shown to be normally shaped but did not have a strong clear image indicating that it is probably not conducting fluid well. I went home and had my chest drained again then returned this past Monday for a lymphscintigraphy. They used diabetic needles and it was not as dreadful as I had been anticipating. Also 8 mgs of valium orally ahead of time was a good idea!

Those images showed my left (worst) leg has one main duct that is carrying fluid, although not well, it stops at the knee, then nothing above the knee. The right leg which has begun to swell this summer, has 4 good lymph channels that look like a 4 lane highway except at mid calf, where they all look torturously varicosed, then straightens out and the lymph channels run well up through my abdomen.

So the plan is three fold. Insert a a shunt(tube) from my abdomen through my chest and attach to the subclavian vein. It has a small pump that I will use to activate the draining into the vein to remove fluid. Its very much like a Denver Shunt that is used for people with kidney and or liver failure. Soooo thankful this is not the problem I face

Second part is to have a thoracic surgeon perform a pleurodesis on my left lung. They use surgical talc to create a scarred area that causes the lung to adhere to the chest wall, eliminating the space where the chyle likes to hid in my chest. They have done this procedure for years for people with pleural efusions caused by lung or ovarian cancers or lymphomas. Once again I have to say….SOOOO thankful this is not the problem I have.

And third, here is where I am feeling some anxiety and maybe a little premature disappointment. I will meet with doctor at UPENN who does lymphovenous bypass microsurgery. I hope there is enough patency in the one good lymph channel that he will be ale to create a working anastomosis or two or three… Because my lymphatic failure is diffused I am not a true candidate for LNT, so the bypass is my best chance.”

Thanks so much Kim for sharing and we wish you well while you have this surgery. I hope you will let us know of your progress in the hope of helping others with similar problems.

image.jpg

Kim at her son’s graduation

Copyright © 2013-2015 by Helensamia. All rights Reserved.

Feel free to share with others. It can be distributed via social media, reblogged or added to websites. Please do not change the original content and provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name and a link to this blog.
https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/ Thanks

2 thoughts on “Kim’s surgery for Primary Lymphedema and Chylothorax

  1. Hi Kim. Thank you so much for sharing. That is great that you’ve been able to find the help you need at UPenn. It’s interesting that you have Primary Lymphedema Tarda and that it’s in your left leg, abdomen and thoracic region. Please keep us posted on the LNT surgery. I’m going to see a surgeon in Los Angeles who specializes in the procedure. Have possible Primary Lymphedema in right leg after 2nd pregnancy 8 years ago at 36 years old. Starting to see swelling in left foot, that comes and goes. All the best to you on your treatment. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

