Liz hits the pool.. Great Lymphoedema exercise

imageHey Everyone,
Last evening was another milestone–my first time in our community pool in 2 years!!!–It felt wonderful–Very ‘freeing’–no need for compression garment just pure freedom. My affected leg felt exactly like the unaffected leg…and guess what?–no one even noticed my leg. I had this misconception for the last 3 years that the whole world was looking at my leg but that is not reality. I had the feeling that my leg was so important to everyone and people would be staring at my leg but the truth is …it was only important to me which is still huge but it can not rule your life (It ruled mine for 3 years and I’m so sorry I allowed that to happen)….The mild compression the water provides is gently messaging your extremity and encouraging lymphatic drainage.

We have been having a miserable heat wave here in CT. for the past few days and the water in the pool was cool, clean, and invigorating. I paid for a new membership so that I could remain motivated to go to the pool at least 3 times per week and get that ‘feeling’ again. Hopefully, it is encouraging those new lymph nodes in my groin to grow big and strong.

Someone had written at one time that she wore compression garments in the pool. After discussing this point with Dr. Chang’s LE therapist and my therapist here in CT. I wanted to clear up the fact that compression garments in the pool are not needed. The water pressure provides that service to us. Thank God!! Liz

Previously I have written about Aquatic exercise and how good it is for Lymphoedema.. This link also includes videos of water exercises… Water is a natural compression and just walking up and down the pool is great for the legs as there is more compression at the feet and less going up the body… Just like a garment!! Freedom… Helen

https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/aquatic-exercise-for-lymphoedema-includes-video/

5 thoughts on “Liz hits the pool.. Great Lymphoedema exercise

  1. Liz,
    How soon after getting out of the water did you wait to put on your garment? I would like to people to lay in the sun without my garment, did you do that? Had my surgery in December and it looks and feels great. I see my doctor in August and will post a follow-up to that visit.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

