Liz, four weeks and counting down to the first year!!

imageAn update from Liz… Love to read about her progress…

“We are now into the very end of week 3–This Friday makes it 4 weeks since the surgery for LNT and LVB with Dr. Chang. The good news is the ‘wraps are off’–YAH–now I am back to wearing the Elvarex during the daytime and under my workout tights to the gym. I will also wear the Elvarex to work under my scrub pants. I have seen the LE therapist here in CT and she did the MLD (also called the Complete Decongestion Therapy) on Tuesday of this week. That felt wonderful.Tomorrow with will be my first day back to the gym in 4 weeks.

I have been in touch with Lisa, RN at Dr. Chang’s office to ask a few questions and I have also sent emails to the LE therapist who works with Dr. Chang. I just needed a few things clarified. They did get back to me quickly. I should not be expecting a miracle overnight-within the year there will be changes and a reduction in volume. At least I have something to look forward to. All incisions have healed-I use the flexi touch apparatus at night and then I wear the quilted night-time garment to bed. When I wake up in the morning, the leg is soft. I then apply the Elvarex again and go about my day. I know I can not obsess about this. I have to let my body just do “it’s thing”–whatever that may be. I know in my heart I have done all there is to do for the LE and now it’s time to let my body take over and grow the ‘long roots of the lymph nodes’–lol-You have to have fun with this once in a while…On the discharge instructions it is stated that in a couple of weeks, I should get re-measured for new elvarex but I really don’t think I need to–the same size Elvarex I wore before my surgery are the same ones I am wearing now–they are still as difficult to get on now as they were then. I sit on the floor with my purple Playtex gloves/turn on the fan/ and sweat as I struggle to pull them up and fit them into the groin crevice!! OMG that was descriptive!!LOL. I’ll figure it out as I go and I always know I have a fabulous back up system when I need one. Someone out there from this blog will have an answer if I need one. You are all very warm, sharing, caring, people with a wealth of knowledge to share.
Tomorrow, I’m hoping the gym feels wonderful ….. My husband tells me to come to the pool with him (a community pool) but I’m not comfortable yet–eventually I will. Here is my one question–what brand of compression panty hose do you wear that can supply you with the same compression as the Elvarex? When I do wear panty hose, Jobst, which I seldom do because they eventually bunch around my ankle/knee/ groin, and I think they are doing more harm than good. I was wondering if anyone else had any ideas about a different brand other than JOBST medical compression?? Thank you-hope to hear soon–Liz”

Thanks for keeping us in the loop, great patience is needed now till there are signs of change… A softening of the leg seems to be the first change… Helen

image

 

2 thoughts on “Liz, four weeks and counting down to the first year!!

  1. Hi Liz, My name is Bonnie-Jean and I have been a Vodder Certified therapist since 1992. I have also been a certified garment fitter since 1992. If you would like to see what garments are available besides the Elverex you mention, please contact me at: 203 907-7031. I worked with a lymph node transfer client who had great success with a different manufacturer for her compression stockings.

Leave a Reply

