How to protect yourself after lymph node removal during surgery

Nearly thirteen years ago I had surgery for Uterine Cancer, included the removal of 22 lymph nodes from the groin area. Follow up treatment was a month of daily radiation which damaged more of the lymphatic vessels. On leaving hospital I was given a bookmark which told me how to protect myself from Lymphoedema. It was given as a bit of a sideline and not much emphasis given to the importance of protecting my legs, or even what Lymphoedema actually was!!! The other day I was having a bit of a tidy and found this bookmark. Oh how I wish had read it more and realised how important it was to keep my limbs safe!! I think I had managed to break all the rules within the first few weeks including flying with no compression garment and taking a sauna!! No wonder my Lymphoedema started quite soon after treatment. I wish someone had told me how very important that bookmark was, how lymphoedema is a lifelong problem that you have 24/7….

Please share this with others so that they may not have to deal with this problem, or at least have some time before it starts, or are able to protect their limb from getting worse. Any time lymph nodes are removed during surgery there is a risk of Lymphoedema. Below is the bookmark I was given that seemed so unimportant, when in fact it was the most important piece of information I was leaving the hospital with!!

image

image

This is a previous post I wrote with a link to the American Cancer society on Protecting yourself from the risk of lymphoedema post cancer surgery. I have Lymphoedema in my left leg but I must also remember that my right leg is at risk so I must always be very vigilant in caring for both of my legs.

https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/2013/07/23/precautions-to-lower-the-risk-of-lymphedema-after-cancer-treatment/

Feel free to share with others. It can be distributed via social media, reblogged or added to websites. Please do not change the original content and provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name and a link to this blog.
https://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/ Thanks

One thought on “How to protect yourself after lymph node removal during surgery

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round Up: Pinktober Is Here | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

