Six month check-up

IMG_0779

Tomorrow is my six month check up day to see if there is any progress after the Lymph Node Transfer/transplant I had in March. To say I am anxious is an understatement, as I want there to be signs of improvement, but not sure if there will be. I am to have an MRI to check the fluid levels in each leg, they compare the good and bad leg and show % differences. I am to also have a Lymphasytagraph which maps the lymphatics in both legs to see if there is improvement. This is a very long test, as they inject radioactive fluid between the toes (yuk) and then take pictures over a four-hour period to map the progress. I am due to arrive at the hospital at 7am and will be there till the afternoon as the MRI also takes an hour. I will have my iPad and phone to keep me occupied!! I hope to get the results while I am there as not due to see the doctor till the end of October. After tomorrow I will know more!!

22 thoughts on “Six month check-up

  1. Let’s hope for the very best. You deserve some positive results for the courageous way you have dealt with all the circumstances of the past year. I will be holding both thumbs (whilst they are not attached to a golf club!!) ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„

  2. Praying for good news, Helen….all the best to you. Thank you for sharing your information so generously with us all, it is so helpful to all of us!

    • I guess the reason I want some good results is not just for me but everyone reading … I want this to be a positive outcome for everyone … I don’t believe the LE will ever be gone but I hope it will be easier to manage and no infections… Time will tell!!. Thank you for your support …

  3. Can’t wait to hear!! Post as soon as you know!!! You leg looks so normal anyway!! I am feeling down..my leg seems more swollen than usual. I was so uncomfortable today.  I wish you all the best and blessings for tomorrow!!!  Lori

    ________________________________

    • My leg has never been really big and my main swelling is in the middle of the leg rather than ankle.. My fear is the knee will be bigger due to surgery but ankle I hope shows improvement.. Pre surgery the dye for the Lymphasytagraph pooled under the knee.. Main swelling was above and below knee.. My ankle used to swell during the day but I think this is a bit better…I know it is still early days but I hope those little nodes are doing something.. It is certainly a roller coaster of good and bad days!! Hope things improve for you,too.. Helen xxx

  4. I have asked the ladies and their husbands to say a special prayer for you! We are with you in spirit and hope that you will be well and that the procedure was successful. I don’t know you, but I feel that we are friends. Best wishes and take care, JBC

    • Yes I do not know what I would have done without this wonderful Internet community to support me… It is such a help to be able to write and share… Thanks for your support xx

Leave a Reply

