The Big Day

Reblogging this as I reminder of where and when my surgery began…. Five months later and feeling more my normal self lower leg going well but knee still a problem … Off today for some MLD and laser treatment on scar tissue in knee …. Yes I still have Lymphoedema but maybe easier to manage… Tests in September should show progress I hope!! Will keep you posted…
image

My Lymph Node Transplant

For most women the ‘Big Day’ refers to the one imagined by pimpled teenagers at the back of double math. You know the one. The one with the white gown, man of dreams and promise of happily ever after. For my mother, the ‘Big Day’ now refers to the one imagined by those living with Lymphoedema. You know the one. The one with white hospital gown, doctor of dreams and promise of ‘just as good as before’.

Today was that very day.

At 6am the alarm grabbed me by the collar and yanked me out of restful slumber. The screen flashed ‘MUM’S SURGERY’. I dialed her number with zombie precision thinking it would be really nice to catch her right before her surgery to giver her my love and forgetting that the use of mobile devices is generally frowned upon in the hospital setting. I got the answering service. “Hi…

View original post 336 more words

3 thoughts on “The Big Day

Leave a Reply

