Deep Lymphatic Drainage …. Update

imageI originally wrote about going for a session of Deep Lymphatic Drainage a couple of weeks ago. Yesterday I went for my third session and as promised I am now following up, as the therapy is a little different to usual MLD!!

Prior to seeing Shan at Shan Therapy I had been attending Macquarie Uni Hospital physiotherapy department for MLD and follow up post surgery care. The problem was there did not seem to be a protocol for this, as some doctors have overseas. Dr Massey likes all her patients to bandage and do MLD for three months after surgery… 24/7…. I found myself trying  this and trying that and I found that when I asked question I was given the “I don’t know” answer and the problems I was having with my knee after the surgery were also not being addressed. However my leg did reduce from the post surgical swelling using Ready Wraps and compression stockings and weekly MLD,  but then it just got to a plateau and my knee was worse than pre surgery, which was very scary.  It is not always good to be the first and to “blaze the trail”. I decided that I needed to find some help for myself. My body was feeling congested, I was struggling emotionally. I started to question why I would have had this surgery, being the first in Australia I had no one to relate to and felt quite alone. Thank goodness for the Internet and this blog which has allowed me to contact fellow patients overseas which has really helped. We call ourselves “the leg ladies.”

image

Visiting Shan for the third time I felt like I was returning to a safe haven, where someone would listen to me and help. At the start of each session we talk about what has happened as a result of the previous session, how is the leg,  how does the treatment need to be adjusted to make the most impact. I think that this is the difference in conventional MLD, as the therapy is always the same, at the hospital the work was all about the leg and not my whole body and we reached a stage where no more could be done. The lymphatics are all one network, each area affecting another, if they are not in balance you have no hope of helping the problem limb. Deep Lymphatic Therapy is MLD with extras!!!!

Once again I was laying on a bed of magnetised water and also around my head, Crystal Quartz were taped to all the main areas of lymph nodes. Shan said she would take a picture of me but not sure I am ready to share that picture on my blog!! Again Shan starts to work on the nodes and pathways using a Crystal Quartz wand, this feels warm, first the left arm is cleared then left leg, right leg and finally right arm. Each area is checked to see if it feels lighter when lifted and only then does Shan move on to the next limb. I am also given essential oils to inhale, these vary but we have used, Wild Lavender, Peppermint, Fennel, Fragonia and Ylang Ylang, dependent on what Shan feels is needed. The session lasts two hours and during it I have water to drink and before a detox tea of lemon, ginger, dandelion and honey. By the end I am ready to go to the loo!!!! I know some of you are reading this and going, “What is she doing, has she gone quite mad!” There are times that we don’t always understand why things work, but just have to except that it does and also that there are people who have the ability to heal. Some MLD therapist have been in touch with me and find it very difficult to acknowledge this therapy, but I say I have the results!! I now have two ankles the same size, the knee and thigh are reducing and look much better, my tummy and groin area have reduced, I notice this especially in the morning, I don’t feel congested anymore, I feel better mentally, I feel supported and best of all Shan has an answer for my knee!!! When you have surgery there is scar tissue, the muscle sheath or fascia can get puckered or gathered and this leads to the kneecap not tracking properly when you move it. Makes perfect sense as below my knee cap you can see a tight line, Shan is now working to release this and in time my knee should return to normal. All I can say is why could neither a doctor or physiotherapist recognise this or listen to my repeated, “There is something wrong with my knee when I walk!”  I also have exercises to improve the numbness in my lower leg and foot.

I  think that what is working is the holistic approach to my Lymphoedema in conjunction with the transplanted nodes, which are supported while they grow.  The use of different modalities including medical and alternative are all helping. I don’t believe that my Lymphoedema will ever be “cured” but I do believe it will be greatly improved and easier to manage…. A cure would be a wonderful bonus!! Thank you Shan for your help and if Rosemary were  alive I am sure she would be interested to see the progress.

image

9 thoughts on “Deep Lymphatic Drainage …. Update

  1. That’s great news Helen, I love that you are open to trying new things in conjunction with your doctor treatments, even if they sound a bit out there. I really believe a combination of therapies is always going to work better to support the whole person. Keep it up!

    • Some people think I am crazy to have the surgery… In life you have to be open to alternatives rather than stick to what you know.. Especially when there is the chance it could help!!! Thanks for your support…..

  2. Wonderful news. Your interest and perseverance I greatly admire!! Keep going strong… Thank goodness you gave found Shan.

  3. Helen, I am with you all the way about holistic treatment. I agree – the typical MLD therapy is helpful, but I just underwent a full lymphatic drainage massage, and I had to go to the “loo” thoughout that evening! Very relaxing and the therapist spent so much more time with me – 1-1/2 hours – I am going on a weekly basis! My measurements aren’t down too much but I really feel it holds promise for improvement once I have a few sessions.

  4. Pingback: Latest pictures… Helen | My Lymph Node Transplant

Leave a Reply

