Post Surgery Update… Still Waiting!

Unknown

Vivid Festival Sydney.. Google images

I thought it was about time I did an update even though I have little to say, still waiting!!!! Today I went for a physio appointment for MLD. (Manual Lymph Drainage) Although I had flown to Perth last week, had done a lot of walking and sitting in cars, my leg survived without getting to swollen. On the other hand it did not improve either, which would have been nice! Next Thursday is the big day when I will have an Ultrasound done to check for viable Lymph nodes. Thank goodness it is not an MRI, as I thought, so I will not have that noise again, it gave me a headache last time! Noise Tunnel… Bang Bang Bang!   I am also due for another Physio appointment that day for MLD and all measurements, (compared to pre surgery) ready for the doctor the following week. Next week will be three months since I had the surgery, I certainly did not expect to be having all this treatment, Ready Wraps, MLD and maybe Complex Bandaging. Somewhere in my head I thought that this would all get easier rather than harder… Sue feels the same as me too as she is wearing a Reidboot to work and Bandaging her leg at night time to get the swelling down. This makes it very difficult to know if any improvement is from the therapy or the new Lymph nodes….. I am also very confused as to wether the swelling in my knee is Lymphoedema or surgical swelling from the transplant or infection, as it gets worse when I use the knee more…… I guess next week all will be revealed. The emotional toll of all this waiting is also way beyond what I imagined and it is great to be able to share this with Sue and other ladies, as we are able to support each other and understand the journey we are on, at times like a crazy roller coaster!! We are the “Leg Ladies”.

images-2

google images

Much more exciting than all of this is the amazing Vivid Festival that starts in Sydney this weekend.The city comes alive with lights colour and music for two weeks. Here are some photos for you to get an idea of the wonderful atmosphere.     http://www.vividsydney.com

images

google images

images-2

google images

images-3

Google images

images-4

google images

images-1

google images

images-1

google images

images

google images

Unknown

google images

Have a great weekend all…….

12 thoughts on “Post Surgery Update… Still Waiting!

  1. How cool that Vivid Festival looks!!! Enjoy!!!!
    I’m sure the anticipation is great. You want to be hopeful, but cautiously so, and yet you worry about being disappointed. I think this is, as you mention, a never-ending roller coaster for cancer patients. There’s a lot of holding your breath waiting for news: good, bad or indifferent. I pray that you get encouraging news and that you begin to show real progress. I can’t believe it’s been 3 months since your surgery. I’m sure it feels like an eternity to you, but to your fans in cyber space, it went by quickly. Take care!

  2. The uncertainty is so frustrating, but stay positive. You’ve gone through a lot and have made it this far. Just from reading your blog I know you have the strength to overcome this. In the meantime, enjoy the Vivid Festival!

    • I can’t take credit for the pictures I found them online.. My own are not so clear of the big buildings.. Thanks for your support .. I am at the stage now that I just want to know how things are!!

Leave a Reply

