The Battle Scars!

It has been a month since my surgery and I thought it was maybe time to show you how the surgery incisions are healing.

Incision in neck where the Lymph nodes were removed from.

Incision in neck where the Lymph nodes were removed …. After 1 month.. Photo Helensamia

When the doctor and I were speaking prior to the surgery I had thought that this incision would be higher on my neck and more noticeable. I was very pleased to see after surgery that it is along my collar-bone on the right hand side and can be easily covered. However I am amazed at the way it is healing and after only a month it is looking very good. The doctor used dissolving stitches for this incision and as these disappear the scar is getting flatter and smoother, of course I use vitamin E oil on it every day, I swear by that stuff for  healing scars!

Below are two Photos of the incision in the side of my left knee where the Lymph nodes from my neck have been transferred to. These were taken at 1 week and 1 month after surgery.

Incision in left knee 1 week after surgery.. Photo Helensamia

Incision in left knee where nodes have been transferred to… 1 week after surgery.. Photo Helensamia

Incision on side of knee where the lymph nodes have been transplanted.

Incision on side of knee where the lymph nodes have been transplanted… After 1 month.. Photo Helensamia

Unlike the neck incision these  stitches were not dissolving and had to be removed. Due to the infection these were taken out after three weeks rather than the normal two weeks. I was very glad to have them removed as they had started to really pull, but as you see a week after the stitches were removed the scar is looking flatter and healing well. The swollen knee is a “work in progress” and should gradually reduce in size, though it is less swollen than the first week after surgery. (Angle of picture makes it look worse).

Everyday I have a routine in the mornings of Manual Lymph Drainage , which I do myself, and the exercises for the lower limbs to improve Lymphatic drainage. I then put a dressing over the scar on my knee to protect it from any friction caused by my compression stocking, that I then put on. I order my compression stockings from America, a company called Ames Walker. I find they are about a third of the price, (to Australia), good compression but finer and I am lucky enough to be an off the shelf size. Over the years I have had various garments many custom-made but have now settled for just the stocking and tights for stand-bye if needed round tummy.

After all this I need a little rest!!!

Compression stocking on, incision protected and I am ready for the day! .. Photo Helensamia

Compression stocking on, incision protected and I am ready for the day!..Photo Helensamia

10 thoughts on “The Battle Scars!

  1. That neck scar looks amazing for only one month’s healing time! I am also using vitamin E oil. Happy to see your great results. Hope the others heal well too.

Leave a Reply

