Patience is a Virtue

Sitting in a hospital room, however nice, does not fuel ones writing juices and “fodder” for my blog has dried up a little being so confined!! The only source of gossip and stories are the nurses chattering at the nursing station outside my room, which on occasions sounds like a party, it goes into overdrive at change of shift time when everyone meets and greets those arriving. There is great excitement when news of holidays, babies, moving, children and the joys of life and time away from the hospital are shared. One night there was great concern, as a patient had lost her name tags and could not be identified, as she was unable to speak, she was needing a dose of morphine which could not be given with out accurate identity. In the end the nursing home that she came from had to fax a picture for ID! A couple of nights later a doctor came to replace yet another canular and threw my name tag in the rubbish, as it had been in the way!! I asked the nurse to replace it, “Before you forget who I am!” Every drug that is given is preceded by giving your name and date of birth, every single time, even though I have always been in the same room. I said I needed a recording to press each time, especially in the middle of the night! I guess that is better than getting the wrong drug.

The doctor came yesterday and I hope to go home on Friday continuing to take oral antibiotics. There is concern as to how this infection has impacted on the transplant and the ability of the new nodes to create lymphatic vessels. However this is not something which will be known immediately as it was always going to be a slow process. In six months I am to have another MRI and a Lymphoscintigraph to map the lymphatics and their progress. Prior to that I believe it is a case of monitoring the lymphoedema to see if there is improvement. It is very hard to tell at this stage what is swelling from surgery and what is lymphoedema, also the fact I cannot bend leg or move too much does not allow lymph to disperse. I cannot wear compression garments over the transplant at this stage but have ordered knee highs to see if they help. Although I knew before surgery that things would be slow and results would not be seen immediately, I was not really ready for the reality of this and how it would feel. I am reminded of the saying, “Patience is a virtue!”

20130327-113124.jpg

Some of my lovely flowers.. Photo Helensamia

10 thoughts on “Patience is a Virtue

  1. The one place I truly learnt patience was in hospital! Thinking of you and looking forward to seeing you when you are ready 🙂 If you are stuck for blog fodder make something up…lol
    Love to you xxx

    • Maybe I should tell the falling over in the rain story!!! Makes me laugh sitting here all by my self!!!! It’s like great expectations here … Waiting … Waiting … Waiting!!! Except I have a nighty on not wedding dress!!

  2. This has been a long journey, for sure. I hope and pray you will be rewarded for your patience and your positive attitude despite the difficulties you are going through. I am just about two weeks pre-surgery so I am getting anxious and of course scared now, too. In the US this is a very new surgery. In fact, the very first lymph node transfer in the State of Florida was just performed on Marh 11th, and the doctors here are very optimistic. I am having my surgery in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, where there have been at least one (!) surgery by my surgeon that I know of. I haven’t asked him how many of these he’s done (dumb!!). They say he is the pioneer in this surgery. We have 3-4 million lymphedema suffers in the US alone. Amazing that this is the first time surgery is being taken seriously. Please keep blogging. Your posts are welcome. Also, by the way, what specialty does your surgeon concentrate in? Mine is a plastic surgeon. Take care and before you know you will be going home. Hang in there!!! Bridget

    • Thanks Bridget.. Because this is all so new it seems impossible to get concrete info on post surgery recovery so there is no guide line for what is “normal” its possible to tell what is post surgical swelling and what is my lymphoedema… No one from the lymphoedema clinic has been to see me to give me help with this as cannot at this stage wear a stocking and have to continue to rest leg.. My doctor is lovely but even he is unsure of how the infection may damage the transplant he says it could cause the new lymphatic vessels to not grow or it could be fine. Tests in 6 months will show more. I think other than the infection my surgery was a success the donor site is healing well.. My surgeon is a plastic and reconstructive micro surgeon. Gosh i wish i could be more helpful for you going into surgery but at the moment it is a very slow recovery.. I am thinking of you and wish you well and i am sure all will be ok..

    • Thanks for that … Came home today but still allowed to do nothing!!! This is all a very slow process re seeing results And think i had not really thought about how that would feel.. But very good to be home xxx

Leave a Reply

