I Come from the Land Down Under!

We come from a land down under

We come from a land down under (Photo credit: Liamfm .)

Today I was talking to a friend about my blog and how amazing it was that people are following from all over the world. Her quick response to this was, “You are the leg down under”. Well we had a real chuckle at that one, as we come from the land of kangaroos and koalas often known as the “Land Down Under” or better known as Australia.

English: Orthographic map of Australia centere...

English: Orthographic map of Australia centered at 26.75° S, 133.25° E. Official territory. Claimed territories. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sadly I would like to tell you all that I was home sitting in my nice comfy chair and sleeping in my own bed, but it looks like I am to be in hospital another week. The doctor is happy with the newly transferred nodes and listened again to the blood flow. However he is concerned with the cellulitis, which is looking so much better, but there is still a small area and my blood tests still come back showing infection, so I have to remain on IV antibiotics till the blood tests come back clear. I am to have a PICC line inserted, for ease of giving the medication as I  have had issues with the canulars and the type of antibiotic which irritates the veins. I think over the years from having IV antibiotics my veins are not good, this has become a problem now. Hopefully this is the last time I have to deal with cellulitis  as the new nodes start to work clearing bugs!

On the bright side the incision along my lower neck is very, very neat, just a line and healing well, i can hardly see it so I am happy with that. The knee is also starting to look less swollen and the scar neat and straight. (Elizabeth I wish I had thought of the tape measure!) I still have to elevate and rest the leg in a chair or in bed. Still no bending but I can weight bear on it to walk to the bathroom, thank goodness for that, but not allowed out of the room!! If you have to stay in hospital for a while this place is beautiful, lovely room, own bathroom, internet, TV and very good fresh food, which is remarkable for a hospital. I am on the top floor and have a view across bushland, while sitting in my chair I am sure there are some kangaroos and koalas hiding out there!

Koala walking between trees, joey on back.

Koala walking between trees, joey on back. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Koala

Koala (Photo credit: runmonty)

Koala sleeping on a tree top

Koala sleeping on a tree top (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

20130324-072515.jpg

Kangaroos in the Hunter Valley.. Photo Helensamia

14 thoughts on “I Come from the Land Down Under!

  1. Hi Helen, I have been reading your blogs for the last week. Adam has also kept me posted on your recovery. I think that you are amazing. Thank you for for making me aware of what comes with this surgery. I hope that you are back to 100% before you realise it and that it has all been worth it. I have passed your blog onto a friend who also suffers from Lymphoedema. You are making a difference.

  2. Hi Helen. We are glad to hear that you are doing well. We very much enjoyed the photos of the animals. We don’t see many of these animals in New York! Please check out our facebook page, where we shared this post this morning. Best wishes from all of us.

  3. That cute little koala (bottom one) looks a bit like you when you are all curled up!! Stay strong – you will be home soon.

  4. Yes, Helen we should write a hospital packing list that includes a tape measure! That whole fluid build up problem with my tissue expander surgery was pretty upsetting because I hadn’t noticed it and my surgeon was so concerned about it. My skin also wasn’t healing well, which I’d noticed but it looked the same as after my mastectomy, when everyone was telling me how “great” it looked. It didn’t help that my surgeon said, “I’ve never seen this before.” So now I am ever vigilant. I’m so happy this surgery, which was so much more invasive than the others, has gone so smoothly.

    It sounds like your recovery is actually going well, just not perfectly. Another item for our list would be to bring a memory foam topper for the hospital bed. http://www.overstock.com/Bedding-Bath/Splendorest-Cool-Effects-2-inch-Ventilated-Memory-Foam-Mattress-Topper/7402119/product.html

    • When i came into hospital they put a heavy sticker on my bag!!! More than 10kg!!! Iol. Now i am here so long i am so glad of all this stuff but a tape did not make the trip! My bed here is actually very comfy and i am actually sleeping better if not disturbed!! The best thing is my ipad internet can really pass the time.. I actually cant believe it is a week since surgery! I am in a much better place than last Friday… Also glad your surgery has gone so well and you are so happy with results.

      • Helen, you are very resourceful. And yes, that is a very heavy bag you brought with you! That’s so funny that it was marked “heavy”. For some reason this reminds me of traveling in Costa Rica (a trip to celebrate my husband’s and my 20th wedding anniversary). We were traveling within the country on a little plane. Our luggage had to be under a certain weight. I remember preparing for this at home, weighing my bag and then swapping for a smaller bag and taking lots of stuff out. What I was not prepared for was the fact that the airline required us to weigh ourselves along with the bag on these scales right in front of God and everybody. I think the weight restriction for the bag was something like 20 pounds, so all anyone had to do to figure my weight (which was pretty high at the time), was to subtract 20! Not that anyone was looking or that it REALLY mattered but it was still embarrassing!

Leave a Reply

