One Step at a Time!

Steps into the Future

One Step at a Time

I started at the first step of this journey, August 17th 2012, with my first visit to the Advanced Lymphoedema Clinic at Macquarie Uni Hospital, Sydney. It has not always been easy to find the courage to step up when I could not see the top, or what was hiding there. Today I have nearly reached the summit, as tomorrow will be my surgery for a Lymph Node Transplant. This is the first to be performed in Australia due to Lymphoedema of the leg, surgery on arms in has been done here and though both procedures have been performed overseas the results are mixed and difficult to find.

Today I have a mixture of emotions ranging from excitement to fear! At the start of this blog I asked, “Am I crazy” and in writing this blog I have come to the conclusion that I am not, well maybe a little! I am not sure what the outcomes will be, in reading I gather that the new lymph nodes over a period of time create new lymph channels, so it will take time to see any real results in regard the swelling. However the newly transferred nodes should combat infection, allowing me to return to some of the things I miss. I also hope that by being part of this research I can will bring a brighter future to those with Lymphoedema. The goal being to perform surgery early in the diagnosis of Lymphoedema, prior to there being damage to existing nodes or fibrosis of the limb.

Even when you cannot see the end you have to keep climbing, till you reach your goal.

I am not sure when I will be able to blog again, but tomorrow my daughter will be a “Guest Blogger” and let you know how I am! I also want to say a huge thank you to all of you who have and are supporting me, you have given me the courage to keep climbing the steps. A really big thank you to my husband, who has never faltered in encouraging me to do this, at times he has been more positive than me!

23 thoughts on “One Step at a Time!

  1. As a Lymphatic Therapist I am following your blog with much interest – good on you for sharing your story! Wishing you best of luck for your op tomorrow and I look forward to hearing about the outcome and your healing ahead ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh yes, the glass is always half full in your case and your strength has certainly rubbed off on me! Check in at hospital tomorrow 6am!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Good luck for tomorrow! It is a brave decision to participate to a trial not knowing the outcome but I am sure that it will be a success for you as a good part of achieving what you want comes from a positive attitude, which you seem to have in buckets! You are not crazy, you are a pioneer…Rock on sister and looking forward to hearing the success of it all!

    • Yes there is always hope and some we have to make for ourselves… We need Lymphoedema to be recognized and understood.. We can do this … One step at a time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Bridget it is 4.30am here in Australia and I am due at hospital at 6am I think my surgery starts quite early… feel quite anxious at the moment and can’t sleep!!! Be very glad when the surgery is over but I hope my daughter will post at end of day to say how things have gone and I will as soon as I can… xxxx

  4. By the time you read this I know the sand man will be taking good care of you and the umbrella with pictures will be open. When you wake beautifull flowers and candles will fill your room , you have climbed that mountain and be able to see future clear of infections and frequent unexpected trip to hospitals. Know my thoughts are with you. Looking forward to sharing the next part of the journey with you

  5. Given all you have been through over the past 11 years, I completely understand, and applaud, your decision to have this transplant. I wish you much success with this procedure and hope it brings you the relief you deserve.

Leave a Reply

