The Blogging Virgin!

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios blog...

English: Monkeys Blogging Español: Simios bloggeando (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Until a couple of weeks ago this was me, “The Blogging Virgin!” I had heard that others did it but I had never done it myself! I have now left my comfort zone in an effort to spread awareness of Lymphoedema and bring understanding and education to others. Even those close to me did not really understand, as I just got on quietly with life. They say that the squeaky wheel gets attention, so I will become the squeaky wheel.

I have been amazed at the support I have had in doing this and the community of “lymphies” I have become part of. There are some truly inspiring people out there, who are doing their bit to spread the word. Primary and secondary Lymphoedema needs to be recognized by the medical profession so that early treatment can be started. Health funds, both government and private, need to understand that this is a health issue that needs funding, treatments and garments should be available to ALL.

In throwing off my virgin cape I have found ability I did not know I had, it is the ability to give a voice to living with Lymphoedema. I have found that I enjoy writing, and having answered the challenge of setting up a blog  I now know what widgets are and how to “fuel” the search engine! This is more fun and helpful than writing a diary and tucking it in a drawer where no one sees it!

What I would like from all of you is to please pass this on to ten people, ask those ten to pass it on to ten more. The internet is such an amazing tool for spreading the word and this is what needs to happen. I want to be able to say to someone “I have Lymphoedema” and they would understand. Thank you to everyone who has already shared, also keep the comments coming, I love to read them and hear others experience of Lymphoedema.

Todays juice carrot, beetroot, tomato, cucumber and ginger.

Carrots on display at local greengrocer

Carrots on display at local greengrocer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 thoughts on “The Blogging Virgin!

    • Thanks for being the best proof reader ever… no matter how many times I read through you can always find at least one!!… you are my editor in general and my best support xxxx

  1. Best of luck with your blog. I have already learned a lot from you! I never thought of lymphodema of the legs. I have only thought about it in terms of the arms, related to breast cancer. And certainly, I never heard of a transplant of lymph nodes. I look forward to following your blog and learning more!

    • It is my hope to be able to bring understanding to others. I think Lymphoedema of the arm is what people hear about due to breast cancer but when ever lymph nodes are removed the area becomes vulnerable. I am enjoying so much peoples blogs there is such a range of wonderful writing and has opened a whole new world to me. I look forward to continuing to read yours. I wish you well as you continue your treatment.

Leave a Reply

